

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MINUTES 21-001

3:28 p.m. January 25, 2021 Council Chamber Hamilton City Hall 71 Main Street West

- Present: Deputy Mayor B. Clark Councillors M. Wilson, J. Farr, N. Nann, C. Collins, J.P. Danko, M. Pearson, B. Johnson and J. Partridge.
- Absent: Mayor F. Eisenberger; Councillors A. VanderBeek, L. Ferguson City Business Councillors S. Merulla, T. Jackson, E. Pauls and T. Whitehead – Personal

Deputy Mayor Clark called the Special meeting of City Council to order and recognized that Council is meeting on the traditional territories of the Erie, Neutral, HuronWendat, Haudenosaunee and Mississaugas. This land is covered by the Dish with One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, which was an agreement between the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabek to share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. It was further acknowledged that this land is covered by the Between the Lakes Purchase, 1792, between the Crown and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. The City of Hamilton is home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island (North America) and it was recognized that we must do more to learn about the rich history of this land so that we can better understand our roles as residents, neighbours, partners and caretakers.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

The Clerk advised that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Pearson/Partridge)

That the agenda for the January 25, 2021 meeting of Council be approved, as presented.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 9 to 0, as follows:

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Jason Farr YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Sam Merulla YES - Ward 5 Councillor Chad Collins NOT PRESENT – Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson NOT PRESENT - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Mayor Fred Eisenberger YES - Ward 15 Councillor Judi Partridge NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Terry Whitehead NOT PRESENT - Ward 13 Councillor Arlene VanderBeek NOT PRESENT - Ward 12 Councillor Arlene VanderBeek NOT PRESENT - Ward 12 Councillor Lloyd Ferguson YES - Ward 11 Councillor Brenda Johnson YES - Ward 10 Councillor Maria Pearson YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

MOTIONS

3.1 Sole Voting Member of the Hamilton Farmers' Market - Review of the Hamilton Farmers' Market Corporation Stallholder Agreement Renewal Process (CM21001(a)) (City Wide)

(Pearson/Johnson)

That Report CM21001(a), Sole Voting Member of the Hamilton Farmers' Market -Review of the Hamilton Farmers' Market Corporation Stallholder Agreement Renewal Process, remain confidential.

Result: Motion Item 3.1, CARRIED by a vote of 9 to 0, as follows:

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Jason Farr YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Sam Merulla YES - Ward 5 Councillor Chad Collins NOT PRESENT – Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson NOT PRESENT - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Mayor Fred Eisenberger YES - Ward 15 Councillor Judi Partridge NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Terry Whitehead NOT PRESENT - Ward 13 Councillor Arlene VanderBeek NOT PRESENT - Ward 12 Councillor Lloyd Ferguson YES - Ward 11 Councillor Brenda Johnson YES - Ward 10 Councillor Maria Pearson YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

BY-LAWS

(Partridge/Pearson)

That Bill No. 21-009, be passed and that the Corporate Seal be affixed thereto, and that the By-law, be numbered, be signed by the Deputy Mayor and the City Clerk to read as follows:

21-009 To Confirm the Proceedings of City Council

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 9 to 0, as follows:

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Jason Farr YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Sam Merulla YES - Ward 5 Councillor Chad Collins NOT PRESENT – Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson NOT PRESENT - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Mayor Fred Eisenberger YES - Ward 15 Councillor Judi Partridge NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Terry Whitehead NOT PRESENT - Ward 13 Councillor Arlene VanderBeek NOT PRESENT - Ward 12 Councillor Lloyd Ferguson YES - Ward 11 Councillor Brenda Johnson YES - Ward 10 Councillor Maria Pearson YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

(Pearson/Collins)

That, there being no further business, Special City Council be adjourned at 3:34 p.m.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 9 to 0, as follows:

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Jason Farr YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Sam Merulla YES - Ward 5 Councillor Chad Collins NOT PRESENT – Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson NOT PRESENT - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Mayor Fred Eisenberger YES - Ward 15 Councillor Judi Partridge NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Terry Whitehead NOT PRESENT - Ward 13 Councillor Arlene VanderBeek NOT PRESENT - Ward 12 Councillor Lloyd Ferguson YES - Ward 11 Councillor Brenda Johnson YES - Ward 10 Councillor Maria Pearson YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

Respectfully submitted,

Deputy Mayor B. Clark

Janet Pilon Acting City Clerk