

TOWN HALL 56 Queen Street Port Hope, ON L1A 3Z9 t: 905.885.4544 f: 905.885.7698

admin@porthope.ca www.porthope.ca

June 17, 2015

BY EMAIL: lisa.raitt@parl.gc.ca

The Honourable Lisa Raitt, Federal Minister of Transport House of Commons OTTAWA ON K1A 0A6

Dear Minister Raitt:

RE: Community Mailboxes

Please be advised that Council for the Municipality of Port Hope at their regular Council meeting held on June 16, 2017 passed the following Resolution with regard to the elimination of home mail delivery and installation of community mailboxes;

Resolution No. 60/2015

WHEREAS that the City of Hamilton and the Town of Aurora advise Canada Post that it opposes the discontinuation of door to door mail delivery service;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT Council support the City of Hamilton and the Town of Aurora opposition to the elimination of home mail delivery and installation of community mailboxes;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT Council for the Municipality of Port Hope request that the Federal Minister of Transport who oversees Canada Post, to require Canada Post to halt installation of community mailboxes immediately and adhere to its Five-point Action Plan requirement to engage in full and meaningful consultation with all stakeholders, including the Municipality of Port Hope and its residents;

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT a copy of this motion be forwarded to local M.P and M.P.P., Ontario Members of Provincial Parliament, Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

The Municipality of Port Hope is requesting that Canada Post immediately cease the installation of community mailboxes and adhere to its Five-point Action Plan requirement to engage in full and meaningful consultation with all stakeholders, including the Municipality of Port Hope and its residents.

I look forward to your response at your earliest opportunity.

Yours truly,

Comie Montiell

Connie Martinell, Deputy Clerk

cc: Town of Aurora, PO Box 1000, Aurora On, L4G 6J1
City of Hamilton, 71 Main St. W., Hamilton On, L8P 4Y5
R. Norlock, MP, Northumberland Quinte-West, 277 Division St., Cobourg On, K9A 3R2
L. Rinaldi, MPP, Northumberland Quinte-West, 513 Division St., Unit 7 Cobourg On, K9A 5G6
AMO, 200 University Ave., Suite 801, Toronto On, M5H 3C6
Ontario Members of Parliament c/o Legislative Assembly of Ontario, 111 Wellesley St. W., Toronto On, M7A 1A2
P. Angelo, Director of Works and Engineering
Councillor T. Hickey
file copy