

## Clerk's Department

595 9<sup>th</sup> Avenue East, Owen Sound Ontario N4K 3E3 519-372-0219 x 1227 / 1-800-567-GREY / Fax: 519-376-8998

October 11, 2016

The Honourable Kathleen Wynne Premier of Ontario
Toronto ON M7A 1A1
By email only: premier@ontario.ca

Honourable Madam:

Provincial legislation and Hydro One's strategy regarding hydro costs was discussed at a recent Grey County standing committee meeting. At the October 4, 2016 Council session, resolution SSC70-16 was endorsed as follows:

WHEREAS there is inequity between the cost of hydro for rural residents as compared to urban residents due to higher distribution charges;

AND WHEREAS this practice targets and negatively affects rural residents, especially those who are already unable to pay for the high cost of hydro;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT the County of Grey request the Province to re-evaluate the structure of hydro in terms of access and delivery and implement structural changes to address the unfair practice of charging more for delivery for rural residents;

AND THAT this resolution be circulated to all municipalities in the Province of Ontario as well as Ontario Small Urban Municipalities (OSUM) and Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO).

Grey County Council respectfully requests consideration of this resolution.

Yours truly,

**Sharon Vokes** 

Clerk/Director of Council Services

sharon.vokes@grey.ca

www.grey.ca

cc. Glenn Thibeault, Minister of Energy by email: <a href="mailto:gthibeault.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org">gthibeault.mpp.co@liberal.ola.org</a>

AMO by email: amo@amo.on.ca

OSUM by email: Imccabe@goderich.ca

K. Weppler, Director of Finance

All Ontario Municipalities

Bill Walker, MPP Bruce Grey Owen Sound by email: bill.wlker@pc.ola.org

Jim Wilson, Simcoe Grey MPP by email: jim.wilson@pc.ola.org

Grey County: Colour It Your Way