

5.7

14 Mill Ave. P.O. Box 250

ZURICH ON NOM 2T0 519-236-4351 or 519-565-5212

Fax: 519-236-4329

municipalityofbluewater.ca

January 9, 2017

VIA EMAIL

The Honourable Kathleen Wynne
The Honourable Brad Duguid
The Honourable Bob Chiarelli
Mr. Patrick Brown, Leader of the Progressive Conservative Party
Ms. Andrea Horwath, Leader of the New Democratic Party
Lisa Thompson, MPP Huron Bruce
Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO)
Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA)
All Ontario Municipalities

Resolution: Funding Fire Department Infrastructure

Please be advised that the Council of the Corporation of the Municipality of Bluewater at its regular meeting on December 19th, 2016 carried the following resolution:

Whereas the *Fire Protection and Prevention Act, 1997,* legislates that fire prevention, public education and fire protection services are a mandatory municipal responsibility; and

Whereas there are a total of 449 Fire Departments operating in the province comprised of 32 Full-Time Departments, 191 Composite Departments and 226 Volunteer Departments with 11,376 Full-Time Firefighters, 19,347 Volunteer Firefighters and 343 Park-Time Firefighters staffing these departments; and

Whereas the fire service represents a significant percentage of small, rural and northern municipalities' managed capital assets; and

Whereas the Municipal Fire Department and associated assets represent critical municipal infrastructure; and

Whereas there are currently no funding opportunities available from the Provincial or the Federal Government for the equipment, training, maintenance, operating or capital requirements of local fire departments;

Resolved, That the Council of the Municipality of Bluewater petition the Provincial Government to recognize the municipal fire service as critical infrastructure by including funding for Fire Department infrastructure as part of the Provincial Governments Infrastructure Strategy to Move Ontario Forward; and

Further, that a copy of this resolution be sent to the Premier of Ontario, the Minister of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure, the Association of Municipalities of Ontario, the Rural Ontario Municipal Association and all Ontario municipalities.

As per the above resolution, please accept this correspondence for your information and consideration.

Sincerely,

Kyle Pratt

Chief Administrative Officer