CITY OF HAMILTON MOTION

Council: July 12, 2019

MOVED BY COUNCILLOR NANN.....

SECONDED BY COUNCILLOR.....

Appointments to the Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee

WHEREAS, on July 10, 2015, Council approved the following direction, as part of Report CM15007, Review of the City of Hamilton's Advisory Committees:

That the local Hamilton Aboriginal Community leadership, recommend to Council the appointment of residents from the Hamilton Aboriginal community, to sit on the Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee.

WHEREAS, the Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee at its meeting of June 19, 2019, considered the recommendations for appointments made by the identified members of the Indigenous community leadership.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED:

That the following citizens be appointed to the Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee for the 2018-2022 term commencing on July 12, 2019:

- (a) Constance (Connie) Bellamy
- (b) Cat Cayuga
- (c) Scott Cruickshank
- (d) Deborah Elmes
- (e) Allan Loft
- (f) Laura Workman
- (g) Marilyn Wright
- (h) Patty Lawlor (Ally, non-voting)
- (i) Khitanya Petgrave (Ally, non-voting)

Appendix A – Letter from Betsy Pocop, Human Rights Specialist on behalf of the Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee

Appendix A to 7.4



City of Hamilton 71 Main St. W. Hamilton, ON L8P 4Y5 www.hamilton.ca Betsy Pocop, Human Rights Specialist Physical Address: 120 King St. W, 9th Floor Hamilton, ON L8P 4V2 Phone: 905.546.2424 ext.6419 Fax: 905.546.2650 Email: Betsy.Pocop@hamilton.ca

July 2, 2019

Dear Members of Council,

On July 10, 2015, Council approved the following direction, as part of Report CM15007, Review of the City of Hamilton's Advisory Committees:

That the local Hamilton Aboriginal Community leadership, recommend to Council the appointment of residents from the Hamilton Aboriginal community, to sit on the Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee.

The Hamilton Aboriginal Advisory Committee at its meeting of June 19, 2019, reviewed and accepted the recommendations for appointments made by the identified members of the Indigenous community leadership.

As per Council's direction on July 10, 2015, the Aboriginal Advisory Committee recommends the appointment of the following residents from the Hamilton Aboriginal Community, as members of the Aboriginal Advisory Committee for the 2018-2022 term commencing on July 12, 2019:

- 1. Constance (Connie) Bellamy
- 2. Cat Cayuga
- 3. Scott Cruickshank
- 4. Deborah Elmes
- 5. Allan Loft
- 6. Laura Workman
- 7. Marilyn Wright
- 8. Patty Lawlor (Ally, non-voting)
- 9. Khitanya Petgrave (Ally, non-voting)

If you require any additional information regarding the above-noted process or appointees, please do hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Betsy Pocop Human Rights Specialist City Manager's Office, Human Resources Division

OUR Vision: To be the best place to raise a child and age successfully. OUR Mission: To provide high quality cost conscious public services that contribute to a healthy, safe and prosperous community, in a sustainable manner. OUR Culture: Collective Ownership, Steadfast Integrity, Courageous Change, Sensational Service, Engaged Empowered Employees. Priorities: Community Engagement & Participation: Economic Prosperity and Growth: Healthy and Safe Cou

OUR Priorities: Community Engagement & Participation; Economic Prosperity and Growth; Healthy and Safe Communities; Clean and Green; Built Environment and Infrastructure; Culture and Diversity and Our People and Performance.