

345 Oak Street West, North Bay, ON P1B 2T2 70 Joseph Street, Unit 302, Parry Sound, ON P2A 2G5 TEL 705-746-5801 FAX 705-746-2711

TEL 705-474-1400 FAX 705-474-8252

myhealthunit.ca 1-800-563-2808

5.6

July 5, 2019

SENT ELECTRONICALLY

The Honourable Doug Ford **Premier of Ontario** Legislative Building, Queens Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1 doug.ford@pc.ola.org

The Honourable Christine Elliott Deputy Premier and Minister of Health and Long-Term Care Hepburn Block, 10th Floor 80 Grosvenor Street Toronto, ON M7A 1E9 christine.elliott@pc.ola.org

Dear Premier Ford and Minister Elliott:

At its regular Board meeting on June 26, 2019, the Board of Health for the North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit passed the following resolution related to the public health transformation initiative in northeastern Ontario:

Whereas, since November 2017, the boards of health in Northeastern Ontario, namely the Boards for Algoma Public Health, Public Health Sudbury & Districts, Porcupine Health Unit, North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit, and Timiskaming Health Unit, have proactively and strategically engaged in the Northeast Public Health Collaboration Project to identify opportunities for collaboration and potential shared services; and

Whereas, the Northeast Public Health Collaboration Project work to date has been supported by two one-time funding grants from the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (Ministry); and

Whereas, subsequent to the proposed transformation of public health announced in the April 11, 2019, provincial budget, the work of the Collaboration has been accelerated and reoriented as the Northeast Public Health Transformation Initiative with the vision of a healthy northeastern Ontario enabled by a coordinated, efficient, effective, and collaborative public health entity; and

Whereas, the Board understands there will be opportunities for consultation with the Ministry on the regional implementation of public health transformation;

Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Board of Health for the North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit is committed to the continued collaboration of the boards of health in Northeastern Ontario and looks forward to ongoing Ministry support for this work; and

Furthermore Be It Resolved, that the Board, having engaged in this work since 2017, anticipates sharing with the Ministry its experiences so that other regions may benefit and further anticipates providing to the Ministry its expert advice on public health functions and structures for the Northeast; and

Furthermore Be It Resolved, that this motion be shared with the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier, the Honourable Christine Elliott, Minister of Health and Long-Term Care, Dr. David Williams, Chief Medical Officer of Health, Vic Fedeli, MPP – Nipissing, Norm Miller, MPP – Parry Sound-Muskoka, John Vanthof, MPP – Timiskaming-Cochrane, the Association of Local Public Health Agencies, Ontario Boards of Health, and member municipalities.

Sincerely yours,

James Chirico, H.BSc., M.D., F.R.C.P. (C), MPH Medical Officer of Health/Executive Officer

/sb

Copy to: Dr. David Williams, Chief Medical Officer of Health

Vic Fedeli, MPP - Nipissing

Norm Miller, MPP – Parry Sound-Muskoka

John Vanthof, MPP – Timiskaming-Cochrane

Loretta Ryan, Executive Director, Association of Local Public Health Agencies (aIPHa)

Ontario Boards of Health

NBPSDHU Member Municipalities (31)

