McMaster Okanagan Committee HSC-2E55 1280 Main Street West Hamilton, ON L8S 4L8 (905) 525-9140 x 22328 (905) 546-0800 okanagan@mcmaster.ca

4.7

July 21, 2020

To Mayor and Members of Council City of Hamilton

## Re: Support for the Bike Share program in Hamilton

Dear Mayor Eisenberger,

I am writing you as the chair of the McMaster Okanagan Committee (MOC) to express the committee's support for the continued and future enhancement of the Bike Share program in Hamilton as an essential component of the City's transportation strategy.

The MOC was formed in response to McMaster University's signing of The Okanagan Charter. Developed in collaboration with researchers, practitioners, administrators, students and policy makers from 45 countries representing both educational and health organizations, the Charter inspires universities to take action in embedding well-being into their everyday operations, business practices and academic mandates. The MOC has the mandate to promote inclusive and equitable initiatives that enhance the health and well-being of students, staff and faculty across McMaster campuses and our community.

The MOC recognizes that programs such as the Bike Share are a critical component to improved health and well-being for McMaster and the Hamilton community. The benefits of such a program are improvements to individual user's mental, physical and financial health while also improving the environmental health of our community.

Large urban cities in Canada and globally are taking the opportunity of the pandemic to reimagine transportation and are investing in bicycle infrastructure such as dedicated lanes and bike share initiatives.

The MOC is supportive of the Bike Share program and encourages the City of Hamilton to consider reinvesting in and enhancing the Bike Share program for the future along with community, academic, corporate and other levels of government sponsors. Should you require any further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Very best regards,

Paul M. O'Byrne, MB, FRCP(C), FRSC

Chair, McMaster Okanagan Committee

Dean and Vice-President

Michael G. DeGroote School of Medicine

Distinguished University Professor

McMaster University