

## The Corporation of The **Town of Amherstburg**

December 22, 2020

Honourable Jeff Yurek Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks College Park 5th Flr, 777 Bay St, Toronto, ON M7A 2J3 Sent via email: <u>minister.mecp@ontario.ca</u>

## RE: Development Approval Requirements for Landfills – (Bill 197)

At its meeting of December 14, 2020, Council passed the following resolution for your consideration:

"That Administration BE DIRECTED to send correspondence in support of the City of St. Catharines request to amend Bill 197, COVID-19 Economic Recovery Act, 2020 to eliminate the development approval requirement provisions from adjacent municipalities and that the 'host' municipality be empowered to render final approval for landfills within their jurisdiction."

Enclosed is a copy of the City of St. Catharines correspondence for convenience and reference purposes.

Regards,

Tammy Fowkes Deputy Clerk, Town of Amherstburg (519) 736-0012 ext. 2216 tfowkes@amherstburg.ca

> Website: www.amherstburg.ca 271 SANDWICH ST. SOUTH, AMHERSTBURG, ONTARIO N9V 2A5 Phone: (519) 736-0012 Fax: (519) 736-5403 TTY: (519)736-9860

CC:

Hon. Premier Doug Ford Email: <u>premier@ontario.ca</u>

Hon. Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs, Email: Housing <u>minister.mah@ontario.ca</u>

Taras Natyshak, MPP, Essex Email: <u>tnatyshak-qp@ndp.on.ca</u>

Chris Lewis, MP Email: <u>chris.lewis@parl.gc.ca</u>

Robert Auger, Town Solicitor, Legal and Legislative Services/Clerk - Town of Essex Email: <a href="mailto:rauger@essex.ca">rauger@essex.ca</a>

Jennifer Astrologo, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Kingsville Email: <u>jastrologo@kingsville.ca</u>

Agatha Robertson, Director of Council Services/Clerk - Town of LaSalle Email: <u>arobertson@lasalle.ca</u>

Kristen Newman, Director of Legislative and Legal Services/Clerk - Town of Lakeshore Email: <u>knewman@lakeshore.ca</u>

Brenda Percy, Municipal Clerk/Manager of Legislative Services - Municipality of Learnington Email: <a href="mailto:bpercy@learnington.ca">bpercy@learnington.ca</a>

Laura Moy, Director of Corporate Services/Clerk - Town of Tecumseh Email: <u>Imoy@tecumseh.ca</u>

Mary Birch, Director of Council and Community Services/Clerk -County of Essex Email: <u>mbirch@countyofessex.ca</u>

Valerie Critchley, City Clerk – City of Windsor Email: <u>clerks@citywindsor.ca</u>

Robert Cook Email: <u>robertcookconsulting@gmail.com</u>

Association of Municipalities of Ontario (AMO) Email: <u>amo@amo.on.ca</u>

All Ontario Municipalities



October 7, 2020

Honourable Jeff Yurek Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks College Park 5th Flr, 777 Bay St, Toronto, ON M7A 2J3

Sent via email: minister.mecp@ontario.ca

## Re: Development Approval Requirements for Landfills - (Bill 197) Our File 35.2.2

Honourable and Dear Sir,

At its meeting held on October 5, 2020, St. Catharines City Council approved the following motion:

WHEREAS Schedule 6 of Bill 197, COVID-19 Economic Recovery Act, 2020 considers amendments to the Environmental Assessment Act relating to municipal autonomy and the principle that municipalities can veto a development outside their municipal boundary in an adjacent municipality; and

WHEREAS Bill 197 empowers multiple municipalities to 'veto' development of a landfilling site within a 3.5 km zone inside the boundary of an adjacent municipality; and

WHEREAS Bill 197 establishes a dangerous precedent that could be expanded to other types of development; and

WHEREAS Bill 197 compromises municipal autonomy and the authority of municipal councils to make informed decisions in the best interest of their communities and municipal taxpayers; and

WHEREAS amendments in Schedule 6 could cause conflict in the effective management of landfill sites, put significant pressure on existing landfill capacity, and threaten the economic activity associated with these sites;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED That the City of St. Catharines calls upon the Government of Ontario (Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks (MOECP) to amend Bill 197, COVID-19 Economic Recovery Act, 2020, to eliminate the development approval requirement provisions from adjacent municipalities and that the 'host' municipality be empowered to render final approval for landfills within their jurisdiction; and



BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this motion be forwarded to Premier Doug Ford, Jeff Yurek the Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks, Steve Clark the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, local MPP's., the Association of Ontario Municipalities (AMO) and Ontario's Big City Mayors (formerly Large Urban Mayors Caucus of Ontario-LUMCO)

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to all Ontario municipalities with a request for supporting motions to be passed by respective Councils and copies of the supporting motion be forwarded to Premier Doug Ford, Jeff Yurek the Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks, Steve Clark the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, the local MPP's, the Association of Ontario Municipalities (AMO).

If you have any questions, please contact the Office of the City Clerk at extension 1506.

11 alerte

Bonnie Nistico-Dunk, City Clerk Legal and Clerks Services, Office of the City Clerk :ra

Cc. Hon. Premier Doug Ford <u>premier@ontario.ca</u> Hon. Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs, Housing <u>minister.mah@ontario.ca</u> Jennifer Stevens, MPP - St. Catharines, <u>JStevens-CO@ndp.on.ca</u> Jeff Burch, MPP - Niagara Centre, <u>JBurch-QP@ndp.on.ca</u> Wayne Gates, MPP - Niagara Falls, <u>wgates-co@ndp.on.ca</u> Sam Oosterhoff, MPP - Niagara West-Glanbrook, <u>sam.oosterhoff@pc.ola.org</u> Association of Municipalities of Ontario <u>amo@amo.on.ca</u> Chair of Ontario's Big City Mayors, Cam Guthrie <u>mayor@guelph.ca</u> All Ontario Municipalities (via email)