

November 20, 2020

Honourable Jeff Yurek Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks 777 Bay Street, 5th Floor Toronto, ON M7A 2J3

Sent via email: minister.mecp@ontario.ca

Re: Proposed changes to Conservation Authorities in Bill 229 Our File 60.2.99

Honourable Minister,

At its meeting held on November 16, 2020, St. Catharines City Council approved the following motion:

WHEREAS Conservation authorities work to safeguard, manage, and restore Ontario's water through flood plain mapping, water quality monitoring, conservation land management, public education, and wetland stewardship; and

WHEREAS Conservation Authorities collect data on water quality, flooding, fish communities, wetlands, and benthic invertebrates, and this data contributes to policy, science, education and human health; and

WHEREAS the Ontario government's recently proposed changes to Conservation Authorities in Bill 229 do not support climate resilience and may set back watershed planning and the implementation of an eco-system based approach; and

WHEREAS the proposal in Bill 229 that only municipal councillors be appointed by a particular municipality as members of a conservation authority does not strengthen oversight and accountability and will exclude citizen appointees chosen by municipalities for their experience and skills;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Council strongly recommends that Schedule 6 of Bill 229 not be enacted in its present form and instead by withdrawn from Bill 229; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Ministry support and enhance governance at conservation authorities by developing best management practices for the recruitment and selection of authority members, including best practices for the appointment of both elected and non-elected officials in consultation with municipalities; and



BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that that the Ontario government immediately seek to ensure that the current mandate of the province's 36 conservation authorities is maintained and enhanced, in order to effectively protect, restore and manage the watersheds where 95 percent of the people of Ontario reside; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this motion be sent to all Niagara MPPs, the municipalities of Haldimand and Hamilton, all Niagara municipalities, and the Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks.

If you have any questions, please contact the Office of the City Clerk at extension 1506.

Bonnie Nistico-Dunk, City Clerk

Legal and Clerks Services, Office of the City Clerk

:em

Cc. Jennifer Stevens, MPP - St. Catharines, <u>JStevens-CO@ndp.on.ca</u>

Jeff Burch, MPP - Niagara Centre, <u>JBurch-QP@ndp.on.ca</u> Wayne Gates, MPP - Niagara Falls, <u>wgates-co@ndp.on.ca</u>

Sam Oosterhoff, MPP - Niagara West-Glanbrook, sam.oosterhoff@pc.ola.org

Niagara Area Municipalities

City of Hamilton

Haldimand County