Ministry of the Solicitor General Ministère du Solliciteur général

Public Safety Division Division de la sécurité publique



25 Grosvenor St. 25 rue Grosvenor 12th Floor 12e étage

Toronto ON M7A 2H3 Toronto ON M7A 2H3

Telephone: (416) 314-3377 Téléphone: (416) 314-3377 Télécopieur: (416) 314-4037 Télécopieur: (416) 314-4037

MEMORANDUM TO: All Chiefs of Police and

Commissioner Thomas Carrique Chairs, Police Services Boards

FROM: Richard Stubbings

Assistant Deputy Minister Public Safety Division

SUBJECT: Phase 1 COVID-19 Vaccinations for Special

Constables

DATE OF ISSUE: March 5, 2021

CLASSIFICATION: General Information

RETENTION: Indefinite INDEX NO.: 21-0025 PRIORITY: Normal

Further to All Chiefs Memo 21-0023, I am writing to provide an update on Ontario's phased vaccination plan and prioritization as it relates to first responders.

As you are aware, Phase 1 of the province's vaccination roll-out includes front-line personnel who provide direct health care services including response to triaged medical emergency calls where there is an increased risk of exposure to COVID-19. This includes active duty front-line police officers who as part of their duties are required to respond to medical emergencies and provide urgent medical assistance.

Additionally, eligibility under Phase 1 has been extended to **special constables** who, as part of their routine duties, may be required to respond to medical calls for service and provide emergency assistance, such as cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR).

For clarity, this includes special constables sponsored by a police services board or the Commissioner and is not restricted to special constables employed as members of a police service. As such, the ministry is requesting that police services provide the above notice to special constable employers with whom the police services board or Commissioner is the sponsoring authority.

As a reminder, members of a police service and other special constables who do not respond to medical calls for service as part of their routine duties do not qualify under Phase 1. Examples of staff that do not qualify for Phase 1 include, but are not limited to, those in investigative units and functions and back-office staff such as researchers and administrators. Members of police services and other special constables that are not eligible to receive the vaccine in Phase 1 will be eligible in Phase 2.

At this time, chiefs of police, the Commissioner and employers of special constables are encouraged to reach out to their local Public Health Unit(s) to discuss the vaccination approach, including informing them of eligible staff that require vaccines for Phase 1 only and potential timing. A list of all 34 local Public Health Units and their respective medical officers of health are included in an appendix to this memo.

Once again, thank you for your sustained efforts to keep our communities safe and for continuing to emphasize the health and safety of front-line personnel.

Sincerely,

Richard Stubbings

R. Saly

Assistant Deputy Minister

Public Safety Division

Appendix: Public Health Units

PHU	Medical Officer of Health
Algoma	Dr. Jennifer Loo
Brant	Dr. Elizabeth Urbantke
Chatham-Kent	Dr. David Colby
Durham	Dr. Robert Kyle
Eastern Ontario	Dr. Paul Roumeliotis
Grey Bruce	Dr. Ian Arra
Haldimand-Norfolk	Dr. Shanker Nesathurai
Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge	Dr. Ian Gemmill
Halton	Dr. Hamidah Meghani
Hamilton	Dr. Elizabeth Richardson
Hastings Prince Edward	Dr. Piotr Oglaza
Huron	Dr. Miriam Klassen
Kingston Frontenac L & A	Dr. Kieran Moore
Lambton	Dr. Sudit Ranade
Leeds, Grenville, Lanark	Dr. Paula Stewart
Middlesex-London	Dr. Christopher Mackie
Niagara	Dr. Mustafa Hirji
North Bay-Parry Sound	Dr. Jim Chirico
Northwestern	Dr. Kit Young Hoon
Ottawa	Dr. Vera Etches
Oxford Elgin St. Thomas	Dr. Joyce Lock
Peel	Dr. Lawrence Loh
Peterborough	Dr. Rosana Salvaterra
Porcupine	Dr. Lianne Catton
Renfrew	Dr. Robert Cushman
Simcoe-Muskoka	Dr. Charles Gardner
Sudbury	Dr. Penny Sutcliffe
Thunder Bay	Dr. Janet DeMille
Timiskaming	Dr. Glenn Corneil
Toronto	Dr. Eileen de Villa
Waterloo	Dr. Hsiu-Li Wang
Wellington-Dufferin-Guelph	Dr. Nicola Mercer
Windsor-Essex	Dr. Wajid Ahmed
York	Dr. Karim Kurji