

GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE (OPERATING BUDGET) MINUTES 22-002(c)

9:30 a.m.

Friday, January 21, 2022

Due to COVID-19 and the closure of City Hall, this meeting was held virtually.

Present: Mayor F. Eisenberger, Deputy Mayor L. Ferguson (Chair) Councillors M. Wilson, J. Farr, N. Nann, R. Powers, T. Jackson, E. Pauls, J. P. Danko, B. Clark, M. Pearson, B. Johnson, A. VanderBeek, J. Partridge

Absent: Councillor S. Merulla, T. Whitehead - Personal

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1)

The Committee Clerk advised of the following change to the agenda:

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

3.1 January 20, 2022

(Partridge/Pearson)

That the agenda for the January 21, 2022 General Issues Committee (Budget) meeting, be approved, as amended.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fred Eisenberger	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Absent	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark

Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

(c) APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 3)

(i) January 20, 2022 (Item 3.1)

(Nann/Clark)

That the Minutes of the January 20, 2022 meeting of the General Issues Committee, be approved, as presented.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fre	d Eisenberger
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Absent	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

(d) STAFF PRESENTATIONS (Item 6)

(i) Transit – 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget (Item 6.1)

Maureen Cosyn-Heath, Director of Transit, provided the presentation for respecting the Transit - 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget, and answered questions of Committee.

(Powers/Johnson)

That the presentation respecting the Transit - 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget, be received.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fre	d Eisenberger
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Absent	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

(d) ADJOURNMENT (Item 12)

(Pearson/Partridge)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee (Budget) be adjourned at 11:41 a.m.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fred Eisenberger	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Absent	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson

Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor Chair, General Issues Committee

Stephanie Paparella Legislative Coordinator, Office of the City Clerk