

GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE (OPERATING BUDGET) **MINUTES 22-002(d)**

9:30 a.m.

Tuesday, January 25, 2022 Due to COVID-19 and the closure of City Hall, this meeting was held virtually.

Present: Mayor F. Eisenberger, Deputy Mayor L. Ferguson (Chair)

Councillors M. Wilson, J. Farr, N. Nann, S. Merulla, R. Powers,

T. Jackson, E. Pauls, J. P. Danko, B. Clark, M. Pearson, B. Johnson,

A. VanderBeek, J. Partridge

Absent: Councillor T. Whitehead - Personal

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR INFORMATION:

APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1) (a)

The Committee Clerk advised of the following change to the agenda:

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

3.1 January 21, 2022

(Partridge/Eisenberger)

Yes

That the agenda for the January 25, 2022 General Issues Committee (Budget) meeting, be approved, as amended.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Mayor Fred Eisenberger Yes Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Jason Farr - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann Absent Yes - Ward 4 Councillor Sam Merulla

Councillor Russ Powers Yes - Ward 5 - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson Absent

Yes Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls - Ward 8 Councillor J. P. Danko Absent

Yes - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

(c) APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 3)

(i) January 21, 2022 (Item 3.1)

(Johnson/Pauls)

That the Minutes of the January 21, 2022 meeting of the General Issues Committee, be approved, as presented.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fred Eisenberger		
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson	
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr	
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann	
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla	
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers	
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson	
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls	
Absent	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko	
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark	
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson	
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson	
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor	
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek	
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead	
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge	

(Farr/Partridge)

That the General Issues Committee recess for 5 minutes.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 15 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fred Eisenberger		
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson	
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr	
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann	
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla	
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers	
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson	
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls	
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko	
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark	
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson	
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson	
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor	
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek	
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead	
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge	

(d) STAFF PRESENTATIONS (Item 6)

(i) Corporate Services Department – 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget (Item 6.1)

Mike Zegarac, General Manager, Finance & Corporate Services, provided the presentation respecting the Corporate Services Department's - 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget, and answered questions of Committee.

(Pearson/Johnson)

That the presentation respecting the Corporate Services Department's 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget, be received.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 15 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fr	ed Eisenberger
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko

Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

(ii) Planning & Economic Development Department – 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget (Item 6.2)

Jason Thorne, General Manager, Planning & Economic Development, provided the presentation respecting the Planning & Economic Development Department's 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget, and answered questions of Committee.

(Eisenberger/Partridge)

That the presentation respecting the Planning & Economic Development Department's 2022 Tax Supported Operating Budget, be received.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 15 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Fre	d Eisenberger
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge

(d) ADJOURNMENT (Item 12)

(Jackson/Pearson)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee (Budget) be adjourned at 12:01 p.m.

Result: Motion, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 1, as follows:

No	-	Mayor Fred Eisenberger		
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson	
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Jason Farr	
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann	
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Sam Merulla	
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Russ Powers	
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson	
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls	
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko	
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark	
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Maria Pearson	
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Brenda Johnson	
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor	
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Arlene VanderBeek	
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Terry Whitehead	
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Judi Partridge	

Respectfully submitted,

Lloyd Ferguson, Deputy Mayor Chair, General Issues Committee

Stephanie Paparella Legislative Coordinator, Office of the City Clerk