









March 22, 2022

To: Open for Business Sub-Committee C/o Mayor Fred Eisenberger

RE: Open for Business Sub-Committee business

Dear Mr. Mayor,

The three chambers of commerce are writing to you collectively, in your role as Chair of the Open for Business Sub-Committee of Council.

As Chambers of Commerce, we acknowledge the difficult years we have been going through as a community, and that at the start of the pandemic, and for some time afterwards, we have had to make choices and redeploy many resources. We know the many hours and efforts members of council and city staff have put into the community's wellbeing in response to the pandemic, and we are grateful for it.

As you are surely aware, it has been a difficult time for many businesses. At the same time, there has been, and continues to be much investment in our city. Businesses have continued to invest (or try to) in various ways, including growing their local operations. As Chambers, we often hear reports of the challenges businesses face in dealing with various processes to achieve their goals in a timely manner.

As you are also aware, the Open for Business Sub-Committee has not met, nor had any correspondence since the start of the pandemic. As Chambers of Commerce, we believe it is time to again open a forum to review the issues that challenge our "Open for Business" mandate.

We respectfully ask for an update on the status of the Open for Business Sub-Committee, and future intentions on addressing "Open for Business" issues.

With regards,

Matteo Patricelli Executive Director Flamborough Chamber of Commerce

Marie Nash Inter President & CEO Hamilton Chamber of Commerce

Patti Hall Executive Director Stoney Creek Chamber of Commerce

CC, Members of the OFB Committee:

Cllr. Maria Pearson; Cllr. Terry Whitehead; Cllr. Judi Partridge; Cllr. Jason Farr; Cllr. John-Paul Danko; Cllr. Arlene VanderBeek; Cllr. Lloyd Ferguson

CC, Official Advisors: Patti Hall, Stoney Creek Chamber of Commerce; Matteo Patricelli, Flamborough Chamber of Commerce; Ed Fothergill, Hamilton Chamber of Commerce; Paul Szachlewicz, HCOC Alternate; Rachel Braithwaite, Business Improvement Area Advisory Committee; Kyle Slote, Hamilton Burlington Society of Architects; Carol Ann Burcell, RAHB; Matt Johnston, Alternate WEHBA; Michael Collins-Williams, WEHBA