

GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE (OPERATING BUDGET) MINUTES 23-001(b)

9:30 a.m. Monday, January 23, 2023 Council Chambers, City Hall, 2nd Floor 71 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario

- Present: Mayor A. Horwath, Councillors B. Clark (Chair) J. Beattie, C. Cassar, J. P. Danko, M. Francis, T. Hwang, T. Jackson, C. Kroetsch, N. Nann, E. Pauls, M. Spadafora, A. Wilson, M. Wilson
- Absent: Councillor T. McMeekin Personal Councillor M. Tadeson – City Business

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1)

The Committee Clerk advised that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Cassar/Hwang)

That the agenda for the January 23, 2023 General Issues Committee (Budget) meeting, be approved, as presented.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 10 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

(c) APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 3)

(Nann/M. Wilson)

That the following minutes of the General Issues Committee (Operating Budget), be approved, as presented:

- (i) January 10, 2023 (Item 3.1)
- (ii) January 11, 2023 (Item 3.2)

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 10 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(d) STAFF PRESENTATIONS (Item 6)

(i) Corporate Services Department – 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget (Item 6.1)

Mike Zegarac, General Manager, Finance & Corporate Services, provided Committee with a presentation respecting the Corporate Services Department's - 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget, and answered questions of Committee.

(Hwang/M. Wilson)

That the General Issued Committee (Budget) meeting recess for 15 minutes until 11:15 am.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(Cassar/Hwang)

That the presentation respecting the Corporate Services Department's 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(ii) Planning & Economic Development Department – 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget (Item 6.2)

Jason Thorne, General Manager, Planning & Economic Development, provided Committee with a presentation respecting the Planning &

Economic Development Department's 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget, and answered questions of Committee.

(Kroetsch/Hwang)

That the General Issues Committee recess for 25 minutes until 1:00 pm.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(Spadafora/Horwath)

That the presentation respecting the Planning & Economic Development Department's 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	Irea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(e) NOTICES OF MOTION (Item 8)

Councillor Clark relinquished the Chair to Vice-Chair Danko to introduce the following Notice of Motion:

(i) City of Hamilton Property Tax Bill Increases Due to Ontario Legislative Changes

That staff be directed to explore methods and resources in order to include language in City of Hamilton property tax bills that would indicate any increase in property taxes due to Ontario legislative changes and report back to the General Issues Committee.

Councillor Clark assumed the Chair.

(f) ADJOURNMENT (Item 12)

(Beattie/Hwang)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee be adjourned at 2:38 p.m.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath		
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson	
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch	
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann	
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang	
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis	
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson	
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls	
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko	
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark	
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie	
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson	
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar	
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson	
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora	
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin	

Respectfully submitted,

Councillor Brad Clark Chair, General Issues Committee Budget