

# SPECIAL GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE MINUTES 23-003

1:30 p.m. January 12, 2023 Council Chambers, City Hall, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor 71 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario

- Present: Mayor A. Horwath (Chair) Councillors J. Beattie, C. Cassar, B. Clark, J.P. Danko, M. Francis, T. Hwang, T. Jackson, N. Nann, E. Pauls, M. Spadafora, M. Tadeson, A. Wilson, and M. Wilson
- Absent: Councillor T. McMeekin Personal Councillor C. Kroetsch – City Business

## THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR CONSIDERATION:

## 1. Joint Stewardship Board (JSB) Training (Item 4.1)

### (Clark/Cassar)

That staff be directed to release the Joint Stewardship Board (JSB) Training materials, excluding Section 4 – pages 72 – 77 which contain Confidential legal advice, publicly following Council approval.

### Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Absent	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie

Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

#### FOR INFORMATION:

## (a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1)

The Committee Clerk advised that there were no changes to the agenda.

#### (A. Wilson/Spadafora)

That the agenda for the January 12, 2023 Special General Issues Committee meeting, be approved, as presented.

## Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

## (b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

## (c) PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL (Item 3)

## (i) Joint Stewardship Board (JSB) Training (Item 4.1)

#### (Clark/Spadafora)

That Committee move into Closed Session respecting Item 4.1, pursuant to Sections 9.3 and 9.5 of the City's Procedural By-law 21-021, as amended, and Section 239(2), Sub-section (f) and Section 239(3.1) of the *Ontario Municipal Act, 2001*, as amended, as the subject matter pertains to advice that is subject to solicitor-client privilege, including communications necessary for that purpose; and as the meeting is being held for the purposes of educating or training members; and, at the meeting, no member discusses or otherwise deals with any matter in a way that materially advances the business or decision-making of Council or the Committee.

### Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

For disposition of this matter, refer to Item 1.

### (d) ADJOURNMENT (Item 15)

#### (Hwang/Beattie)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee be adjourned at 3:46 p.m.

## Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Absent	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Respectfully submitted,

Mayor Andrea Horwath Chair, General Issues Committee

Angela McRae Legislative Coordinator Office of the City Clerk