

SPECIAL GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE MINUTES 23-002

1:30 p.m. January 12, 2023 Council Chambers, City Hall, 2nd Floor 71 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario

Present: Mayor A. Horwath, Councillors M. Wilson (Acting Deputy Mayor), J. Beattie, C. Cassar, B. Clark, J.P. Danko, M. Francis, T. Hwang, T. Jackson, C. Kroetsch, N. Nann, E. Pauls, M. Spadafora, M. Tadeson, A. Wilson,

Absent: Councillor T. McMeekin - Personal

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR CONSIDERATION:

1. Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) Training - Emergency Management Orientation (Item 4.1)

(a) (Clark/Nann)

- That the Medical Officer of Health or designate be directed to investigate the thresholds of opioid deaths and overdoses that would enable the declaration of a state of emergency and report back to the Board of Health; and,
- (ii) That staff be directed to include in their report the response required to address such an emergency; and available sources of funding to enable an effective response by the City of Hamilton.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath		
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson	
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch	
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann	
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang	
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis	

Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) (Clark/Spadafora)

That staff be directed to report back to the Emergency and Community Services Committee on whether the City has the authority to require any property owner to report on the storage of hazardous materials over a specified volume to the Hamilton Fire Department.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Absent	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(c) (M. Wilson/Nann)

That staff be directed to identify an approach to integrate equity into the Emergency Plans to ensure residents made vulnerable or disproportionately impacted by social determinants of health are included and report back to the General Issues Committee with any resource implications.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Absent	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1)

The Committee Clerk advised of that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Tadeson/A. Wilson)

That the agenda for the January 12, 2023 Special General Issues Committee meeting, be approved, as presented.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson

Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

(c) **PRIVATE & CONFIDENTIAL (Item 3)**

(i) Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) Training - Emergency Management Orientation (Item 4.1)

(Clark/Spadafora)

That the Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) Training - Emergency Management Orientation, be conducted in Open Session.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath		
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson	
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch	
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann	
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang	
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis	
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson	
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls	
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko	
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark	
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie	
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson	
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar	
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson	
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora	
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin	

Fire Chief Dave Cunliffe; Connie Verhaeghe, Senior Emergency Management Coordinator; and Kirsten Marples, Emergency Management Coordinator, provided the training respecting the Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) - Emergency Management Orientation, and answered questions of Committee.

(Hwang/Cassar)

That the training presentation respecting the Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) - Emergency Management Orientation, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	Irea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Absent	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

For disposition of this matter, refer to Item 1.

(d) ADJOURNMENT (Item 15)

(Jackson/Tadeson)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee be adjourned at 12:00 p.m.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Absent	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Respectfully submitted,

Councillor Maureen Wilson Acting Deputy Mayor, General Issues Committee

Angela McRae Legislative Coordinator Office of the City Clerk