

GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE (OPERATING BUDGET) MINUTES 23-001(d)

9:30 a.m.

Thursday, January 26, 2023 Council Chambers, City Hall, 2nd Floor 71 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario

Present: Mayor A. Horwath, Councillors B. Clark (Chair)

J. Beattie, C. Cassar, J. P. Danko, M. Francis, T. Hwang, T. Jackson, C. Kroetsch, T. McMeekin, N. Nann, E. Pauls,

M. Spadafora, M. Tadeson, A. Wilson, M. Wilson

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1)

The Committee Clerk advised of the following changes to the agenda:

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

3.2 January 23, 2023

3.3 January 24, 2023

(Spadafora/Cassar)

Absent

That the agenda for the January 26, 2023 General Issues Committee (Budget) meeting, be approved, as amended.

Councillor Nrinder Nann

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 10 to 0, as follows:

Absent - Mayor Andrea Horwath

- Ward 3

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Absent - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Absent - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

Yes - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls Yes - Ward 8 Councillor J. P. Danko

Yes - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

Yes - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

Councillor M. Spadafora declared a non-disqualifying interest to Item 6.1, Healthy & Safe Communities Department – 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget with respect to the recreation budget which includes ice pads, as he sits on multiple minor hockey boards.

(c) APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 3)

(M. Wilson/Spadafora)

That the following minutes of the General Issues Committee (Budget), be approved, as presented:

- (i) January 20, 2023 (Item 3.1)
- (ii) January 23, 2023 (Added Item 3.2)
- (iii) January 24, 2023 (Added Item 3.3)

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 10 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Absent	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(d) STAFF PRESENTATIONS (Item 6)

(i) Healthy & Safe Communities Department – 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget (Item 6.1)

Angela Burden, General Manager, Healthy & Safe Communities, provided the presentation respecting the Healthy & Safe Communities Department's - 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget, and answered questions of Committee.

(Nann/M. Wilson)

That the General Issues Committee recess for 30 minutes until 12:30 pm.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Absent	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Absent	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(Tadeson/Spadafora)

That the presentation respecting the Healthy & Safe Communities Department's 2023 Tax Supported Operating Budget, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Absent	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark

Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(e) ADJOURNMENT (Item 12)

(Hwang/Tadeson)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee be adjourned at 1:50 p.m.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Absent	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Absent	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Councillor Brad Clark
Chair, General Issues Committee Budget

Respectfully submitted,

Angela McRae Legislative Coordinator Office of the City Clerk