

SPECIAL GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE MINUTES 23-008

9:30 a.m. February 28, 2023 Council Chambers, City Hall, 2nd Floor 71 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario

Present: Mayor A. Horwath, Deputy Mayor Nann (Chair)

Councillors J. Beattie, C. Cassar, B. Clark, J.P. Danko, M. Francis, T. Hwang, T. Jackson, C. Kroetsch, T. McMeekin, E. Pauls, M. Spadafora,

M. Tadeson, A. Wilson, and M. Wilson

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 2)

The Committee Clerk advised of that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Hwang/Danko)

That the agenda for the February 28, 2023 Special General Issues Committee meeting, be approved, as presented.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes Mayor Andrea Horwath Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann - Ward 4 Yes Councillor Tammy Hwang - Ward 5 **Councillor Matt Francis** Absent Yes - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson Yes - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls Councillor J. P. Danko Yes - Ward 8 Yes - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark Yes Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie Yes - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson - Ward 12 Yes Councillor Craig Cassar

Yes - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson Absent - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora Absent - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 3)

There were no declarations of interest.

(c) STAFF PRESENTATIONS (Item 4)

- (i) Hamilton Water Standard of Care and Due Diligence Training (Item 4.1)
 - (a) Hamilton Water Standard of Care and Due Diligence Training

Nick Winters, Director, Hamilton Water; Wendy Jackson, Senior Regulatory Coordinator; and Susan Girt, Manager, Compliance and Regulations, provided the presentation respecting the Hamilton Water Standard of Care and Due Diligence Training, and answered questions of Committee.

(McMeekin/Spadafora)

That the presentation respecting the Hamilton Water Standard of Care and Due Diligence Training, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Absent	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Deputy Mayor Nann relinquished the Chair to Councillor Danko for the remainder of the meeting.

(b) Wastewater/Stormwater Requirements (Item 4.1(b))

Nick Winters, Director, Hamilton Water; Wendy Jackson, Senior Regulatory Coordinator; and Susan Girt, Manager, Compliance and Regulations, provided the presentation respecting the Wastewater/Stormwater Requirements, and answered questions of Committee.

(A. Wilson/Hwang)

That the presentation respecting the Wastewater Requirements, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 11 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Absent	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(d) ADJOURNMENT (Item 5)

(Hwang/M. Wilson)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee be adjourned at 12:31 p.m.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 11 to 0, as follows:

Absent	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Absent	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Absent	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Absent	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Respectfully submitted,

Councillor Nrinder Nann
Deputy Mayor, General Issues

Committee

Janet Pilon

Manager, Legislative Services/Deputy Clerk Office of the City Clerk