

City of Hamilton SOLE VOTING MEMBER OF THE HAMILTON FARMERS' MARKET MINUTES 23-002 5:42 pm Wednesday, April 19, 2023 Council Chambers, Hamilton City Hall, 2nd Floor

71 Main Street West, Hamilton, ON

- Present:Mayor A. Horwath
Councillors B. Clark (Deputy Mayor)
J.P. Danko, J. Beattie, C. Cassar, M. Francis, T. Hwang, T. Jackson,
C. Kroetsch, T. McMeekin, N. Nann, M. Spadafora, and M. Wilson
- Absent: Councillor A. Wilson City Business Councillor E. Pauls, M. Tadeson - Personal

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR CONSIDERATION:

1. Appointment of the Vendor Directors to the Hamilton Farmers' Market Corporation (Item 8.1)

(Kroetsch/Beattie) RESOLUTION OF THE SOLE VOTING MEMBER OF THE CORPORATION

WHEREAS the Corporation is a corporation without share capital to which the *Corporations Act*, R.S.O. 1990, c.38 (the "Act") applies;

AND WHEREAS by the Corporation's Letters Patent, the City of Hamilton is the sole voting member of the Corporation ("Sole Voting Member");

AND WHEREAS by section 5.03 of the Corporation's By-Law No.1, the City of Hamilton, as the sole voting member, is authorized to elect and appoint Directors;

AND WHEREAS, John Alexander and Shane Coleman were elected from among the stallholders of the Hamilton Farmers' Market to serve as Directors on March 23, 2023. NOW BE IT RESOLVED that the Sole Voting Member approves the appointments of John Alexander and Shane Coleman to the Hamilton Farmers' Market Corporation Board of Directors, effective from March 23,2023, for a term of two (2) years with an option, at such Director's discretion, to extend their term for two (2) additional two-year terms.

AND that the Sole Voting Member receives the resignation of Brandon Linares from the Treasurer and Vendor Board Position effective from March 10, 2023.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	Irea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Absent	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 2)

The Committee Clerk advised that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Cassar/Kroetsch)

That the agenda for the April 19, 2023 meeting of the Sole Voting Member of the Hamilton Farmers' Market, be approved, as presented.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes	- Mayor Andrea Horwath
Yes	- Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	- Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	- Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	 Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	- Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Absent	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 3)

There were no declarations of interest.

(c) APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF THE PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 4)

(i) February 23, 2023 (Item 4.1)

(Nann/Hwang)

That the Minutes of the February 23, 2023 meeting of the Sole Voting Member of the Hamilton Farmers' Market, be approved, as presented.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	Irea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Absent	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(d) ADJOURNMENT (Item 13)

(Spadafora/Francis)

That there being no further business, the Sole Voting Member of the Hamilton Farmers' Market be adjourned at 5:48 p.m.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Absent	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Absent	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Respectfully submitted,

Deputy Mayor Brad Clark Chair, Sole Voting Member Hamilton Farmers' Market

Angela McRae Legislative Coordinator Office of the City Clerk