

# LIGHT RAIL TRANSIT SUB-COMMITTEE MINUTES 23-001

10:00 a.m.
Friday, March 31, 2023
Council Chambers
Hamilton City Hall
71 Main Street West

Present: Mayor A. Horwath, Councillors C. Cassar, J.P. Danko, M. Francis,

C. Kroetsch, M. Wilson and N. Nann

Absent with Regrets:

Councillor T. Hwang

## THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE FOR CONSIDERATION:

#### 1. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR (Item 1)

#### (a) (Nann/Kroetsch)

That Councillor M. Wilson be appointed as Chair of the Light Rail Transit Sub-Committee for 2023.

#### Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

#### (b) (Kroetsch/Cassar)

That Councillor Nann be appointed as Vice-Chair of the Light Rail Transit Sub-Committee for 2023.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko

Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

# 2. Schedule of Discussion Topics and Presentations for Future Light Rail Transit (LRT) Sub-Committee Meetings (PED23091) (City Wide) (Item 9.1)

### (Kroetsch/Cassar)

That Report PED23091 respecting Schedule of Discussion Topics and Presentations for Future Light Rail Transit (LRT) Sub-Committee Meetings, be received.

#### Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko

Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

#### FOR INFORMATION:

#### (a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 2)

The Committee Clerk advised of the following changes to the agenda.

#### 6. DELEGATION REQUESTS

- 6.1 Sam Nabi, Hamilton Community Benefits Network respecting Recommendations for the Preservation and Creation of Affordable Housing in Hamilton's B-Line LRT Corridor (for a future meeting)
- 6.2 Mohammed Alshalalfeh and Karl Andrus, Hamilton Community Benefits Network, respecting HCBN's Community Engagement

Findings on Resident Aspirations and Wants for Community Benefits Related to the Project (for a future meeting)

## (Cassar/Nann)

That the agenda for the March 31, 2023 Light Rail Transit Sub-Committee meeting be approved, as amended.

#### Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Matt Francis

Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko

Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

## (b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 3)

There were no declarations of interest.

## (c) APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING (Item 4)

## (i) July 18, 2022 (Item 4.1)

## (Nann/Danko)

That the Minutes of the July 18, 2022 meeting of the Light Rail Transit Sub-Committee be approved, as presented.

#### Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko

Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

## (d) DELEGATION REQUESTS (Item 6)

#### (Cassar/Kroetsch)

That the following Delegation Requests, be approved for a future meeting:

- (i) Sam Nabi, Hamilton Community Benefits Network respecting Recommendations for the Preservation and Creation of Affordable Housing in Hamilton's B-Line LRT Corridor (Item 6.1)
- (ii) Mohammed Alshalalfeh and Karl Andrus, Hamilton Community Benefits Network, respecting HCBN's Community Engagement Findings on Resident Aspirations and Wants for Community Benefits Related to the Project (Item 6.2)

## Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko

Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

## (e) DISCUSSION ITEMS (Item 11)

(i) Inclusionary Zoning Along the LRT Corridor (Women and Gender Equity Advisory Committee - Citizen Committee Report) (referred from AF&A Report 22-017, Item 9) (Item 11.1)

#### (Kroetsch/Cassar)

That the Report respecting Inclusionary Zoning Along the LRT Corridor (Women and Gender Equity Advisory Committee - Citizen Committee Report, be received and referred to Planning Staff for a report back to the Planning Committee.

## Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

## (f) ADJOURNMENT (Item 15)

## (Danko/Francis)

That there being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:45 a.m.

### Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 7 to 0, as follows:

Yes - Mayor Andrea Horwath

Yes - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Yes - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

Yes - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

Not Present - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

Yes - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

Yes - Ward 8 Councillor John Paul Danko

Yes - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

Respectfully submitted,

Councillor M. Wilson, Chair, Light Rail Transit Sub-Committee

Carrie McIntosh Legislative Coordinator Office of the City Clerk