Ward 10 Youth Council 777 Hwy 8 Stoney Creek, ON L8E 5J4 May 23, 2023

Mayor Andrea Horwath and members of Hamilton City Council City Hall 71 Main Street West Hamilton, ON L8P 4Y5

## **RE: Teen Vaping**

Dear Mayor Horwath and members of Hamilton City Council,

We are the Ward 10 Youth Council representing high school age students from the Stoney Creek, Fruitland and Winona areas. We represent a diverse cross-section of our communities and we feel very strongly about what we view to be an epidemic of teen vaping.

A recent study done by Brescia University College at Western University, states that more than one quarter of all students from grades 7 to 12 have admitted to vaping. Further, the long-term health effects of vaping are not yet understood. We believe strongly that licensing and regulations should be strengthened, and that the harmful effects of vaping should be demonstrated more fully.

We request that the City of Hamilton investigate the following measures to reduce teen vaping in our community.

- 1. More restrictions on where vaping products can be sold, including the proximity to schools.
- 2. Training for store owners and employees on the harmful effects of vaping.
- 3. Stricter enforcement of ID requirements for the purchase of vaping products.
- 4. Posters in all vaping retail locations stating the health risks of vaping.
- 5. Greater collaboration with the HWDSB and HWCDSB to offer targeted information about the risks associated with vaping directly to students in grades 7 to 12.
- 6. Stronger enforcement to prevent vaping inside school buildings.

Therefore, we urge you to consider the devastating effects of teen vaping and promote its avoidance, as per our recommendations in this letter.

With your help and support, we believe we can break the cycle of teen vaping. We look forward to seeing a decline in teen vaping in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Sophia Bhatti Aimee Passfield
Joanna Gil Jeleina Rasiah
Jessica Madjeruh Jed Rasiah
Charlize Passfield

on behalf of all members of the Ward 10 Youth Council.

c.c. Dawn Danko, Chair, HWDSB Patrick Daly, Chair, HWCDSB