

GENERAL ISSUES COMMITTEE (OPERATING AND CAPITAL BUDGET) MINUTES 24-001(d)

9:30 a.m. Thursday, January 25, 2024 Council Chambers, City Hall, 2nd Floor 71 Main Street West, Hamilton, Ontario

Present: Mayor A. Horwath, Councillors J. P. Danko (Chair)
J. Beattie, C. Cassar, B. Clark, M. Francis, T. Hwang,
T. Jackson, C. Kroetsch, T. McMeekin, N. Nann, E. Pauls,
M. Spadafora, M. Tadeson, A. Wilson, M. Wilson

THE FOLLOWING ITEMS WERE REFERRED TO COUNCIL FOR CONSIDERATION:

1. Living Wage (HUR20003(d) / FCS20013(d)) (City Wide) (Item 7.1)

(A. Wilson/Nann)

- (a) That staff be directed to implement the 2024 Living Wage of \$20.80 per hour for School Crossing Guards effective September 1, 2024; and
- (b) That staff be directed to bring forward a report to Council for approval should there be any future changes to the Living Wage rate prior to implementation in order to consider budget impacts and to assess the effects on the City's internal compensation system.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 16 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar

General Issues Committee (Budget) Minutes 24-001(d)

Yes	- Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	- Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	- Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

FOR INFORMATION:

(a) APPROVAL OF AGENDA (Item 1)

The Committee Clerk advised of the following changes to the agenda:

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

- 3.1 January 22, 2024
- 3.2 January 23, 2024

(Spadafora/Cassar)

That the agenda for the January 25, 2024 General Issues Committee (Budget) meeting, be approved, as amended.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	lrea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(b) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST (Item 2)

There were no declarations of interest.

(i) (Francis/Spadafora)

That the minutes of the following General Issues Committee (Budget), be approved, as presented:

- (1) January 22, 2024 (Added Item 3.1)
- (2) January 23, 2024 (Added Item 3.2)

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	lrea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Absent	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Absent	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(d) STAFF PRESENTATIONS (Item 6)

(i) Corporate Services Department - 2024 Budget Presentation (Item 6.1)

Mike Zegarac, General Manager of Finance & Corporate Services addressed the Committee with a presentation respecting the Corporate Services Department - 2024 Budget.

(Hwang/Beattie)

That the staff presentation respecting Corporate Services Department – 2024 Budget, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 16 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor Andrea Horwath	
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson

Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(ii) City Manager's Office - 2024 Budget Presentation (Item 6.2)

Marnie Cluckie, City Manager, provided and introduction and Jason Thorne, General Manager, Planning and Economic Development, addressed the Committee with a presentation respecting the City Manager's Office – 2024 Budget.

(M. Wilson/Hwang)

That the staff presentation respecting City Manager's Office – 2024 Budget, be received.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 16 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

(e) ADJOURNMENT (Item 12)

(Kroetsch/Nann)

That there being no further business, the General Issues Committee be adjourned at 11:29 a.m.

Result: MOTION, CARRIED by a vote of 16 to 0, as follows:

Yes	-	Mayor And	drea Horwath
Yes	-	Ward 1	Councillor Maureen Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 2	Councillor Cameron Kroetsch
Yes	-	Ward 3	Councillor Nrinder Nann
Yes	-	Ward 4	Councillor Tammy Hwang
Yes	-	Ward 5	Councillor Matt Francis
Yes	-	Ward 6	Councillor Tom Jackson
Yes	-	Ward 7	Councillor Esther Pauls
Yes	-	Ward 8	Councillor J. P. Danko
Yes	-	Ward 9	Councillor Brad Clark
Yes	-	Ward 10	Councillor Jeff Beattie
Yes	-	Ward 11	Councillor Mark Tadeson
Yes	-	Ward 12	Councillor Craig Cassar
Yes	-	Ward 13	Councillor Alex Wilson
Yes	-	Ward 14	Councillor Mike Spadafora
Yes	-	Ward 15	Councillor Ted McMeekin

Respectfully submitted,

Councillor John Paul Danko Chair, General Issues Committee Budget

Angela McRae Legislative Coordinator Office of the City Clerk