

The Honourable Mark Holland Minister of Health of Canada via email: hcminister.ministresc@hc-sc.gc.ca

January 23, 2024

Re: Call for federal government to take immediate action on nicotine pouches

Dear Minister Holland,

At the December 8, 2023 meeting of the Huron Perth Public Health, Board of Health (HPPH BOH), the Board received an update on nicotine pouches in the Medical Officer of Health Report. Following discussion surrounding the aggressive marketing tactics, availability to youth, and the general appeal of the product to youth, a motion was passed to send a letter highlighting the concern and call for change regarding nicotine pouches.

The HPPH BOH supports the calls to action made by a group of health organizations – Action on Smoking and Health, Canadian Cancer Society, Canadian Lung Association, Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac, Heart & Stroke, and Physicians for a Smoke-Free Canada – which urges the Health Ministers to:

- reclassify nicotine pouches as a prescription product, or to suspend the sale of nicotine pouches until the regulatory gap is closed, both of which are approaches that could be done quickly and administratively without the need for regulatory amendment; and
- establish a temporary moratorium on approval of any more nicotine pouch products, or any new category of nicotine products, under the Natural Health Product Regulations, until the regulatory gap is closed, unless the products are sold on a prescription basis.

In addition, the HPPH BOH reinforces alPHa's call to action made in August 2023 to develop a comprehensive federal smoking, vaping and nicotine strategy to reach a target of less than 5% commercial tobacco use by 2035 with respect to all nicotine delivery products.

We urge you to take immediate action to address harmful youth access to nicotine pouches.

Yours Sincerely,

Bernie MacLellan

Chair, Board of Health

Dr Miriam Klassen

Medical Officer of Health



All Ontario Boards of Health

cc:

Mr. Ben Lobb, Member of Parliament, Huron-Bruce Mr. John Nater, Member of Parliament, Perth-Wellington The Honourable Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and Minister of Health The Honourable Lisa Thompson, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs and Member of Provincial Parliament Huron-Bruce Mr. Matthew Rae, Member of Provincial Parliament Perth-Wellington Association of Local Public Health Agencies