

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MINUTES 24-022

7:01 p.m. December 4, 2024 Council Chambers Hamilton City Hall, 71 Main Street West

Present:	Mayor A. Horwath (Virtually), Deputy Mayor J. Beattie (Chair) Councillors C. Cassar; J.P. Danko; T. Jackson (Virtually); B. Clark; C. Kroetsch; E. Pauls; T. McMeekin; A. Wilson and M. Wilson
Absent with	
Regrets:	Councillor T. Hwang – Personal
	Councillor N. Nann – City Business
	Councillor M. Francis – City Business
	Councillor M. Spadafora – Personal
	Councillor M. Tadeson – City Business

Deputy Mayor Beattie called the meeting to order and recognized that Council is meeting on the traditional territories of the Erie, Neutral, HuronWendat, Haudenosaunee and Mississaugas. This land is covered by the Dish with One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, which was an agreement between the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabek to share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. It was further acknowledged that this land is covered by the Dish with Credit First Nation. The City of Hamilton is home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island (North America) and it was recognized that we must do more to learn about the rich history of this land so that we can better understand our roles as residents, neighbours, partners and caretakers.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

The Clerk advised that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Kroetsch/Pauls)

That the agenda for the December 4, 2024 Special meeting of Council be approved, as presented.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 11 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch YES - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin NOT PRESENT - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mark Tadeson YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

MOTIONS

3.1 Shortening the Amendment Period for the Rate Budget

(M. Wilson/Danko)

WHEREAS, the amendment period for the Rate Budget needs to end on December 11, 2024 in order to allow for rates to be set by Alectra Utilities for the new year.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED:

That the amendment period for the Rate Budget be shortened from 30 days to 19 days.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 11 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch YES - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin NOT PRESENT - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

CONFIRMING BY-LAW

(Danko/M. Wilson)

That Bill No. 24-218, be passed and that the Corporate Seal be affixed thereto, and that the By-law, be numbered, be signed by the Mayor and the City Clerk to read as follows:

218 To Confirm the Proceedings of City Council

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 11 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch YES - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin NOT PRESENT - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

(Cassar/Kroetsch)

That, there being no further business, City Council be adjourned at 7:09 p.m.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 11 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko NOT PRESENT - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath NOT PRESENT - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson YES - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch YES - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin NOT PRESENT - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

Respectfully submitted,

Deputy Mayor J. Beattie

Janet Pilon Acting City Clerk