

SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MINUTES 24-024

2:43 p.m.
December 11, 2024
Council Chambers
Hamilton City Hall, 71 Main Street West

Present: Mayor A. Horwath

Deputy Mayor J. Beattie

Councillors C. Cassar; B. Clark; J.P. Danko; M. Francis; T. Hwang; T. Jackson (virtually); C. Kroetsch; N. Nann; E. Pauls; M. Spadafora;

A. Wilson and M. Wilson

Absent

with Regrets: Councillors M. Tadeson and T. McMeekin

Mayor Horwath called the meeting to order and recognized that Council is meeting on the traditional territories of the Erie, Neutral, HuronWendat, Haudenosaunee and Mississaugas. This land is covered by the Dish with One Spoon Wampum Belt Covenant, which was an agreement between the Haudenosaunee and Anishinaabek to share and care for the resources around the Great Lakes. It was further acknowledged that this land is covered by the Between the Lakes Purchase, 1792, between the Crown and the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation. The City of Hamilton is home to many Indigenous people from across Turtle Island (North America) and it was recognized that we must do more to learn about the rich history of this land so that we can better understand our roles as residents, neighbours, partners and caretakers.

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

The Clerk advised that there were no changes to the agenda.

(Kroetsch/Spadafora)

That the agenda for the December 11, 2024 Special meeting of Council be approved, as presented.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 13 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko

YES - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath

YES - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

YES - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

NOT PRESENT - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

NOT PRESENT - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls

YES - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora

NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson

YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

STAFF REPORTS

3.1 Lobbyist Registry Jurisdictional Scan (FCS24052) (City Wide)

(Pauls/A. Wilson)

That Report FCS24053, respecting Lobbyist Registry Jurisdictional Scan (FCS24052) (City Wide), be received.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 14 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko

YES - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath

YES - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

YES - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

NOT PRESENT - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls

YES - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora

NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson

YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

PRIVATE AND CONFIDENTIAL

That Council move into Closed Session at 2:57 p.m. for Lobbyist Registry Training pursuant to Section 9.5 of the City's Procedural Bylaw 21-021, as amended, and Section 239(2), Section 239(3.1) of the *Ontario Municipal Act, 2001*, as amended, as the subject matter pertains to a meeting being held for the purposes of educating or training members; and, that at the meeting, no member discusses or otherwise deals with any matter in a way that materially advances the business or decision-making of Council or the Committee.

Result: Motion DEFEATED by a vote of 3 to 11, as follows:

NO - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

NO - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

NO - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko

NO - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath

NO - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

NO - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

NO - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

NOT PRESENT - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

NO - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

NO - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls

NO - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora

NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson

YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson

NO - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

4.1 Lobbyist Registry Training

David Boghosian, Integrity Commissioner/Lobbyist Registrar provided Council with Lobbyist Registry Training.

(Clark/Francis)

That the Lobbyist Registry Training, be received.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko

YES - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath

YES - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

NOT PRESENT - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

NOT PRESENT - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls

NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora

NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson

YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

CONFIRMING BY-LAW

(Beattie/Clark)

That Bill No. 24-235, be passed and that the Corporate Seal be affixed thereto, and that the By-law, be numbered, be signed by the Mayor and the City Clerk to read as follows:

235 To Confirm the Proceedings of City Council

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko

YES - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath

YES - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

NOT PRESENT - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

NOT PRESENT - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls

NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora

NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson

YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson

YES - Ward 1 Councillor Maureen Wilson

(Cassar/Nann)

That, there being no further business, City Council be adjourned at 4:26 p.m.

Result: Motion CARRIED by a vote of 12 to 0, as follows:

YES - Deputy Mayor - Ward 10 Councillor Jeff Beattie

YES - Ward 12 Councillor Craig Cassar

YES - Ward 9 Councillor Brad Clark

YES - Ward 8 Councillor John-Paul Danko

YES - Ward 5 Councillor Matt Francis

YES - Mayor Andrea Horwath

YES - Ward 4 Councillor Tammy Hwang

YES - Ward 6 Councillor Tom Jackson

NOT PRESENT - Ward 2 Councillor Cameron Kroetsch

NOT PRESENT - Ward 15 Councillor Ted McMeekin

YES - Ward 3 Councillor Nrinder Nann

YES - Ward 7 Councillor Esther Pauls

NOT PRESENT - Ward 14 Councillor Mike Spadafora

NOT PRESENT - Ward 11 Councillor Mark Tadeson

YES - Ward 13 Councillor Alex Wilson

Special Council Minutes 24-024

December 11, 2024 Page 5 of 5

١	/FS -	Ward 1	Councillor	Maureen	Wilson.
		vvalu i		IVIALII EELI	vviistii

Respectfully submitted,

Mayor Andrea Horwath

Matthew Trennum City Clerk