

The Regional Municipality of Durham

Corporate Services Department -Legislative Services

605 ROSSLAND RD. E. PO BOX 623 WHITBY ON L1N 6A3 CANADA 905-668-7711 Fax: 905-668-9935

www.durham.ca

Matthew L. Gaskell Commissioner of Corporate Services The Honourable Kathleen Wynne Premier Room 281 111 Wellesley Street West Queen's Park Toronto ON M7A 1A1

RE: MEMORANDUM FROM DR. ROBERT KYLE, COMMISSIONER & MEDICAL OFFICER OF HEALTH, DATED MAY 16, 2013, RE: ONTARIO'S ACTION PLAN FOR SENIORS OUR FILE: P00-48

Honourable Premier, please be advised the Health & Social Services Committee of Regional Council considered the above matter and at a meeting held on June 5, 2013 Council adopted the following recommendations of the Committee:

- "a) THAT the correspondence dated April 22, 2013 from E. Kolb, Regional Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Region of Peel, to Durham Regional Council, respecting Ontario's Action Plan for Seniors and urging the Provincial government to lead the development of a common policy framework for seniors; conduct a broad capacity planning exercise for seniors; consider all of the recommendations of Dr. Samir Sinha, Expert Lead for Ontario's Senior Care Strategy; and ensure that provincial funding should be assessed according to the needs of the community and the capacity or existing service levels to meet these needs, be endorsed; and
- b) THAT the Premier of Ontario, Ministers of Health and Long-Term Care and Responsible for Seniors, Durham's MPPs, Chief Medical Officer of Health, alPHa, and all Ontario boards of health be so advised."

Deb Boiner

D. Bowen, AMCT Regional Clerk/Director of Legislative Services

DB/If

- c: The Honourable D. Matthews, Minister of Health & Long-Term Care The Honourable M. Sergio, Minister Responsible for Seniors
 - T. MacCharles, MPP (Pickering/Scarborough East)
 - C. Elliott, MPP (Whitby/Oshawa)
 - J. O'Toole, MPP (Durham)
 - J. Ouellette, MPP (Oshawa)





c, cont.:

L. Scott, MPP (Haliburton/Kawartha Lakes/Brock)
J. Dickson, MPP (Ajax/Pickering)
A. King, Chief Medical Officer of Health
L. Stewart, Executive Director, alPHa
Ontario Boards of Health

Ontario Boards of Health

R.J. Kyle, Commissioner & Medical Officer of Health