

Corporation of the Township of Melancthon

Moved by Joh Seconded by

Date March 7 2013

Be it resolved that:

Whereas former Premier Dalton McGuinty has resigned and prorogued the House until such a time as a new Liberal Party leader and Premier of Ontario is sworn in;

And Whereas prorogation of the Legislature has resulted in the dissolving of the Committee formed to review the Aggregate Resources Act (1990), and the canceling of the work of that Committee;

And Whereas Kathleen Wynne has now been sworn in as Premier of the Province of Ontario and the Legislature did resume sitting commencing with the Throne Speech on February 19, 2013;

And Whereas the Throne Speech of February 19, 2013 made indication of the Government of Ontario's belief that the people of the Province of Ontario should have real input into the placement and licensing of gravel pits and quarries;

And Whereas the Aggregate Resources Act (1990) is an Act regulating the operation of gravel pits and quarries in the Province of Ontario;

And Whereas the Aggregate Resources Act (1990) is outdated and insufficient to adequately address the multitude of issues raised by Municipalities, Ontario residents, Conservation Authorities, farmers, and other interested parties;

And Whereas a full review of the Aggregate Resources Act (1990) was promised to all the residents of Ontario during the last election campaign and was subsequently commenced after the election, only to be cancelled by the proroguing of the legislature;

Therefore, be it Resolved that The Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier of the Province of Ontario, commence a full review of the Aggregate Resources Act (1990), and that review be accessible to the people of Ontario and that public hearings with delegations be held in different areas of the Province to allow for the broadest possible public representation and participation;

And that Dufferin County be a location included as a part of that review and that Council for the Township of Melancthon and Members from North Dufferin Agricultural and Community Taskforce both be given a Delegation time before the Hearing Board;

And that this motion be circulated to the Honourable Kathleen Wynne, Premier of the Province of Ontario; MPP David Orazietti, Minister of Natural Resources; Ontario Cabinet; MPP Sylvia Jones, Member for Dufferin-Caledon; MP David Tilson, Dufferin-Caledon; all Dufferin County Municipalities, the top 10 aggregate producing Municipalities; the Nottawasaga Valley Conservation Authority; The Grand River Conservation Authority; the Niagara Escarpment Commission and Conservation Ontario and the North Dufferin Agricultural Community Taskforce.

Recorded Vote

MAYOR

Yea

Nay